Now that’s a teaser

I don’t know how I missed this when it was released a week and a half ago (wait, now I remember: Christmas) but the teaser for Fantastic Four sequel took me by surprise with simply a minute-long chase between the Human Torch and the Silver Surfer. Inspired by the Devil Wears Prada single-scene teaser? Time will tell if this becomes a marketing trend.

Elevating a secondary character’s name into the title of a movie is an unconventional decision but it shrewdly announces to victims of the previous movie:

Don’t worry, it’s not just the “Fantastic” Four again! This is really a Silver Surfer movie merely using the FF as point-of-view proxies for the audience!

And I can’t think of a better use of a Fantastic Four movie. I predict the Surfer himself will be the runaway hit character of the year: the Gollum of 2007!

4 thoughts on “Now that’s a teaser

  1. kastor417 says:

    I just hope this ends up in the movie i heard a rumor it was only shot for the teaser….

    http://www.kastorskorner.wordpress.com

  2. Ryan says:

    I had a parallel experience:

    -missed the trailer until the other day
    -thought, “huh, might be good if they have an interesting character like the Silver Surfer. And it looks like they’re using him well.”

    I never did see the first FF movie, but I might see this one.

  3. The first Fantastic Four was one of the few comic book hero movies I actually disliked, but you’re absolutely right about the power of this teaser.

    It actually has me looking forward to a sequel that will almost inevitably not be the kind of movie I want to see.

    Still, here’s hoping!

  4. Nobody says:

    I’m remaining optimistic even though I too was disappointed by the first Fantastic Four, whose thunder was almost entirely stolen by The Incredibles (which was better than most pre-existing superhero based movies to boot).

Leave a Reply

