Kneel before the limey

This is a public thank-you to Nate Bell.

Three months ago he sent me a DVD of his latest film, which I enjoyed immensely and we chatted about. But it was not till tonight that I looked in the envelope again and discovered that he also included a photograph of General Zod from The Limey!

limey3.jpg

If you haven’t seen the 1999 film, Steven Soderbergh takes the basic plot, pale palette, and remorseless protagonist of the definitive British noir Get Carter and sticks them on an airplane back to the original noir locale, Los Angeles and its sordid Hollywood underbelly.

So I guess the photograph, insofar as it is an icon of the movie, is actually Nate’s subliminal request that I quit my sojourn and return to my birthplace and true home. And considering the choice of image it looks more like a desperate gay threat than a request.

But, whether ominous promise or innocuous wishful thinking, after thinking about the movie for the first time since I originally saw it on VHS (dude!), it would be good to revisit it now that I’ve seen most of the classics of the genre. Thanks for the photo, Nate!

8 thoughts on “Kneel before the limey

  1. Ryan says:

    So far General Zod is the only celebrity I’ve actually encountered on the streets of LA.

  2. Nobody says:

    No way! You’re joking!

    When and where?

  3. Ryan says:

    Last year when I went to see Ian Hunter off of Sunset Blvd. We had dinner across the street before-hand, and as we were waiting for friends, there walks General Zod with some young lady! Feet from me! Like a regular guy!

    I knelt.

  4. Nobody says:

    As you knelt, did you muuter “Dear God” and did he say “No, ‘Zod'”?

  5. Ryan says:

    Yup. I threw him into a giant square though.

    Or maybe it was a open manhole.

  6. Nobody says:

    Yankees suck!  Mets suck!  Krypton sucks!

  7. Nate says:

    Glad you found the photo amusing, Jon. You’ll always be an honorary limey to me!

    How about a Terence Stamp marathon when you get back? I think you might get a kick out of The Collector.

  8. Nobody says:

    Never heard of The Collector before but the description I found sounds awesome. The other one we have to watch is Modesty Blaise — check out the trailer!

Leave a Reply

