For British Eyes Only

This post is just to announce that Arrested Development is the funniest show I’ve ever seen in my life (and I’ve seen a lot of funny TV). Last night I saw the 5th and 6th episodes of the third season and I’ve never laughed so hard in my life.

I only happened to see the show for the first time two weeks ago because BBC2 started airing double-bills of Season 3 after the new series of Extras on Sunday night, but ever since then it’s been the highlight of my week (and not just because Charlize Theron has been guest starring).

I can’t believe it escaped me for so long but I’m a fan4life now. Guess I’ll have to get the first two seasons on DVD. I can’t imagine them being funnier though. I’m still laughing outloud in the library just remembering David Cross as the mole and George Michael as Astroboy.

12 thoughts on “For British Eyes Only

  1. Ryan says:

    Where have you been? Go buy Seasons 1 and 2 immediately. This is one of those shows that didn’t have a “bad” first season. Each episode is gold.

  2. Nobody says:

    Will do. Meanwhile, you should get the first series of Extras, Ricky Gervais’ follow-up to The Office. It’s only 6 episodes but you can call me a liar if you can ever look at Patrick Stewart again without laughing. The man is a good sport!

  3. jeri says:

    Wohoo!!! I have watched these shows several times over and loooooove it. Ric and I quote little bits all the time (and I sing “For British Eyes Only” a lot too).

    Once you see the first two seasons, you’ll pick up on a lot more references in the third. Favorite recurring lines:

    – Well that was a freebie
    – Her?
    – I’ve made a huge mistake
    – Come on! (as said by Gob)
    – The entire family’s chicken impressions

    George Michael is one of the best characters ever written. The comic timing of all the actors is perfect too.

  4. Ryan says:

    I have actually seen Extras! When I heard about it I immediately looked up the easiest illegal downloading system I could find and got all six episodes. You’re right about Patrick Stewart.

    “But it’s too late, I’ve seen everything.”

    Jeri, those are some great quotes. Some Amy and I have adopted:

    “Hey, brother!”

    “What, is she funny or something?”

  5. jeri says:

    I’ll have to walk up to Amy and massage her shoulders with a “Hey brother” and see if it freaks her out.

  6. Ryan says:

    Haha, you should! She’ll freak out, then laugh.

  7. jeri says:

    I also love “Don’t call it that” when people call Orange County the O.C. Even funnier is when Tobias calls Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder “OC Disorder”. Hahaha

  8. Nobody says:

    Jeri.
    Ryan.
    Jeri.
    Ryan.

    Jeri Ryan!

  9. jeri says:

    Reduce us to one and it means you only have one person reading your blog. How sad!

  10. Ryan says:

    Hahaha

    Oo, another one!

    “I have Pop Pop in the attic.”

    “The fact that you call it “pop-pop” shows me that you’re not ready for it yet.”

  11. Jeri says:

    “Who’s Ann?”

  12. Nobody says:

    Important news: came home with Season 1 yesterday.

    Because I know how funny it is being able to get the jokes from early in the third season, I have noticed several jokes that unfortunately went over my head, such as the recurrent chicken impressions and Michael saying “Don’t call it that” when Tobias calls OCD “OC Disorder” so I look forward to discovering their origin finally.

    In the latest episode Geo. Michael married his cousin accidentally on purpose so everything keeps getting better and better.

    “What’s that?”
    “I got you a wedding ring… tone.”

    One of my favorite recent ones was the episode ending with the fake Columbian kidnapping. I died laughing with each twist upon twist and was glad to see Buster finally get everyone’s number.

    Honestly, Arrested Development has brought more unity to my flat than Jordan’s Country Crisp.

Leave a Reply

