UK trailer for A Single Man is too good for its own good

The best 90 seconds of my day today were seeing this trailer for Tom Ford’s A Single Man. It made me forget to keep breathing until it was over.

When I got home from the cinema, I had to watch three other trailers for the same movie before I found the right one, so if you live in the US you probably haven’t seen this trailer. The others are just not as good, and look like they were edited before the music was selected, instead of being edited in rhythm to the (same) music like this one is. The other trailers also lay the ticking clock over the music instead of keeping them separate for a more arresting effect, as in this one:

Sometimes trailers are so bad they make me not want to see a movie that might itself be pretty good. Once in a while, however, there is a trailer that is so good it makes me not want to see the movie because it can’t possibly be as good as the trailer. I couldn’t go to Breakfast on Pluto because the trailer was too good. Now I’m afraid of seeing A Single Man.

3 thoughts on “UK trailer for A Single Man is too good for its own good

  1. I know exactly what you mean about watching “the perfect trailer” and then avoiding the actual film like the plague because you don’t want to spoil the beauty of the trailer. I would make an exception for this film. “A Single Man” was one of the best movies of 2009. Watch it. You won’t be sorry.

    Also, I notice that you read comics books as well. Have you been reading “Criminal” by Ed Brubaker?

  2. Nobody says:

    No I haven’t been reading Criminal. Shall I take that as a recommendation?

    I did see A Single Man and liked it. I would put it in my Top 15 of 2009 if not quite my Top 10. Sometimes Colin Firth’s flushes of color were so strong he looked like an Oompa Loompa.

  3. “Criminal” is the best book on the shelves, in my opinion. It’s basically modern day crime noir. It’s Brubaker’s best work, really. Plus at the end of every issue there is always a fantastic article by a guest writer about some obscure film noir flick, which only adds to the goodness of the book itself.

    I know what you mean about Firth’s flushing face, it was pretty intense at times. The director was Tom “I love beautiful people” Ford, after all.

Leave a Reply

