Heroes Update: Homecoming

After a great start, I felt Heroes started losing momentum in the fifth episode, but I looked forward to getting past the six-episode mark which is when commenter Phillip Johnston said it starts taking off. Aside from a few cool moments, like Hiro pausing an explosion, it seems like not much has happened since then, but Episode 8 reached a new level of boring.

Most of the reason is just that I’m really, really (really) tired of Mohinder, not to mention his faux-thoughtful narrations of non sequitors that begin and end each episode (another thing Phillip noted). Hopefully the second season won’t follow suit on that point. But more than half of Episode 8 was Mo chasing around his little soccer spirit guide and whinging about whatever. I appreciate the need to have more substantial scenes with a few characters even if it cuts out others, but there’s no doubt that such focus sacrifices the excitement generated early in the season by showing every character in each episode.

Fortunately I was able to see Episode 9 immediately afterwards over on BBC3 which finally made up for the last few episodes by showing the scene of the Cheerleader running up the steps that we’ve been staring at for two months via Tim Sale’s painting (I still don’t remember the name of the painting character).  Now that we’ve gotten past this threshold I look forward to seeing some fresh developments as Act II gets underway.

5 thoughts on “Heroes Update: Homecoming

  1. jeric2003 says:

    I agree that the show takes its time, and I can’t stand the Mohinder narratives either. For me, it’s an interesting show, but far from perfect. Glad to see I’m not the only one thinking these things!

  2. Nobody says:

    I know, I’m almost ashamed for immediately pronouncing it as the greatest TV ever made, but there’s a huge difference between the first few fast-paced shows with great cliffhangers and the slow, repetitive Mohinder episode.

    When I said every character is interesting, I meant every one with powers and so far Mohinder still doesn’t count!

    I was hoping you’d say not to worry, Mohinder does something incredible soon, but I guess not.

  3. jeric2003 says:

    Uh, not necessarily soon, but he becomes important later on, although I didn’t necessarily love that twist.

  4. Surfsnell says:

    I’m tired of the Mohinder Mantras about evolution. What’s the point? Show would be so much better without them.

    I just finished Season 1 on DVD and find enough buy in to stay interested (sympathetic characters, creative (if formulaic) narrative). But it’s not genius.

    I’m pleasantly surprised that after filming the pilot the writers then pulled the rest of the season out of their cans on the fly. Given that, it’s surprisingly cohesive and good. Hopefully they actually wrote all of season 2 before principle photography and it gets even better. What this show doesn’t need is to become a rambling endles saga without a redemptive terminus.

  5. Nobody says:

    Agreed. If it turns into Lost they’ll lose me.

Leave a Reply

