THE LIVES OF OTHERS

I got free tickets to a sneak preview of Das Leben der Anderen this week and all I can say is, thank goodness it won Best Foreign Film and not Pan’s Labyrinth. It was worthy of Best Motion Picture all told if you ask me. I could talk about this film for hours but I just don’t have time. It was the movie Red Road wanted to be. In some ways its thoughts on text were more interesting than Stranger than Fiction. I think I’m going to take away Cache‘s distinction as the “best film about cinema since Rear Window” and give it to The Lives of Others. It joins Brick as another astonishing rookie effort in 2006.

UPDATE: I forgot to mention Kevin Spacey-lookalike Ulrich Mühe’s wonderfully understated yet intense performance, a delightful glimpse of what a non-hammy Spacey might be like.

One thought on “THE LIVES OF OTHERS

  1. jeri says:

    Ha. I was just about to post a review of this one today. We’ll see if I have time. Loved it, though.

Leave a Reply

